You Yourself

Hi, people deciding where you want to go or what you want to study.

I am in your very position as of right now the moments I am typing these words and in this season of my life.

I want you to know that (in a way I am writing this to tell myself these) you are not alone.

I want you to know that regardless of what people tell you, at the end of the day, you have to decide for yourself, for the sake of your own happiness because it is YOU that is living YOUR life and not them.

Most of the people I seek advice from tell me to pursue my interest and the things I am good at. [Note: My mother would always exaggerate this point (I got bored of it already) – “Oh, so if I’m interested in (insert your own perception of negativity) then I’ll go to that lah?”] Context, mother, context!

Anyway, I trust that you will make wise decisions concerning your “interest.” It is only the unconventional people who are willing to take risks and live radically that….in short, just be wise and as long as your conscience is right.

If you are thinking about giving up your studies to pursue a career (whatever that is) think carefully, it won’t be an easy path. (Advice from a magician friend).

Regardless of what people tell you, listen to yourself.

You must know a least a little about your personality, your preferred workplace habits, your study style, your stress level, your values, and then work with them.

If you don’t know where to start, start with the Carl Jung or Myers Briggs personality test.

For the sake of your happiness.

“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”

#truestory as in I experienced this myself

Reading articles online concerning college debt, sugar daddies, going to elite schools, and reading the book David and Goliath by Malcolm Gladwell had given me a different perspective on tertiary education.

Sometimes, going to a less elite/prestigious school would do you much good.

Sometimes, going to a prestigious school would do you much damage.

It’s all up to your personality, how you take things in and handle it.

If you’re a fan of conspiracies, aha! Maybe you’ll know what I am talking about.

I need to learn to channel the things I know into my decision-making. God help me.

Accept that sometimes, people don’t see things the way you do because the things that you know are different from the things that they know. They meant it for good – they helped you see what you really want and caused you to follow your heart instead of their words.

Till then…

Till I edit my thoughts again..

letting this sit

Leave a Reply

