The Pen that Drives

A couple of weeks ago, I had an assignment – present the 3rd Chapter of The Great Gatsby with two other team members. I divided that chapter into 3 parts and I landed myself with the first part.

On Monday, my presentation went well, my classmates liked it a lot.

On Tuesday, when I was in the college’s bus en route to college in the dark of the morning, I realized that I had forgotten my pendrive –  I was printing out the chapter’s glossary I was supposed to distribute to my classmates before I left my house.

If only I had a wireless printer, if only that one teammate of mine had given me his vocabulary list earlier – and his vocabulary list consists of only three words! THREE! (note: I am not that bothered by it now, the exclamation mark is deliberately added for effect) I will find out later that he didn’t read through his slides or let alone the book. He had trouble pronouncing them and it was obvious that he didn’t know the meaning of a whole lot of other words. I was very annoyed I had to make that discovery only when he was presenting his part. It’s okay, since the lecturer assessed us individually. He got 7 marks less than me. My other teammate, whom I am very impressed with, got only ONE mark higher than him. I think he deserved more than that, he was so much more prepared! And we actually went through the slides together. =(

So I called my mom and asked her whether does she have any appointment near my college. No. She doesn’t. Then I told her that most probably I will tell my lecturers that I left my pendrive at home. I had another assignment dued – Adobe Illustrator thingy. Little did I know that it was okay not to pass up that day because it was officially dued much later. I thought I need to hand it in because the previous class handed it in to their lecturer the day before that. Now I know better – that my lecturer is more flexible.

Then it occurred to me that my parents can actually email it to me. So, during the period of time when I usually sleep, I directed my parents how to email the files to me as attachments, It took quite a while because there was some problems logging in to the email. Despite telling my father to use other email addresses that my mother and I had, he had insisted on finding his, then he tried using one of mine but it didn’t work. So finally, he finally resorted to my mother’s email address. I had to give the password and it failed many times.

If only I had a sibling.

It was also during then that I realize that I actually have a copy of that Gatsby presentation on my computer. On the night before, I actually put two pendrives into my bag, and I actually hesitated whether I should bring the second pendrive because there’s nothing inside that I need.

And the thing is, I told my teammates to upload their PowerPoint to Google Drive, but I did not do it for mine because I was still editing it and it was really late already. EXCUSES.

So then, I actually didn’t need my parents to email me those files at all.I could have used those time to ZzzZZZ because after lunch, when I went to the library “to check my slides” I realized that my other pendrive is MISSING, AGAIN.

So then, I thought and thought and thought and reasoned that I must have left it in Comm Tech class. So I traveled there via the library back door to the North building and intruded on the ongoing class. Thank God I didn’t need to ask the lecturer the whereabouts of my pendrive because the seat that I had occupied a class before is vacant. There was once not long ago, I enquired the whereabouts of my purple Tupperware water bottle.

So by the time I retrieved my pendrive, it was nearly time for the next class. I was quite out of breath, and sleepy.

When I presented, I had a lot of erms and ahhs, pauses and awkward moments, and it wasn’t as great as the day before. My lecturer noticed that and he commented that my pace was faster the day before. He noted that down on paper as well.

I got my score last Wednesday…I think. And I am quite content with it since I did not comment on the Style, or had a section on Character Analysis, and that sorts. I am two marks away from a perfect score. Someone got that.

So yeah, I had been meaning to write about it but I didn’t feel like it though I actually sorta drafted the title some time ago.

I am writing this now because I was suddenly inspired to write about how I can relate with Gatsby or how am I like Gatsby. But I think I’ll be write that later.

12 Years A Slave is waiting for me.

Leave a Reply

